Press "Enter" to skip to content

Fields Medal – The Nobel Prize of Mathematics

fields medalThe Fields Medal is a prize rewarded every four years to up to four mathematicians under forty years of age by the major International Congress of the International Mathematical Union. IMU is a meeting take place every four years. The Fields Medal alongside the Abel Prize is the highest honor a mathematician can earn during his or hers active days in the field. The Fields Award is awarded for outstanding contributions in the field of mathematics to young scientists introduced back in 1936. The Fields Medal alongside the Abel Medal is commonly regarded to as the Nobel Prize for mathematics. The Fields Medal is different from the Abel medal in terms of the age restriction and in its frequency since the Fields Medal is awarded every four years to scientists up to forty years.

The Fields Medal comes with a certain monetary award that is $15,000 CAD since 2006. The colloquial name of the award is in honor of famous Canadian mathematician John Charles Fields. He significantly influenced the establishment of the award first designing the medal himself and later funding the award’s monetary component. The Fields medal was first awarded to American mathematician Jesse Douglas and to Finnish mathematician Lars Ahlfors back in 1936. It has been awarded ever since to young scientists every four years. Back in 2016 Iranian mathematician, Maryam Mirzakhani became the first woman to win the medal since its introduction.

The Fields Medal Conditions

The medal is often regarded to as the Nobel Prize of Mathematics. It is one of the most prestigious awards in the field. However, unlike the Nobel Prize. The medal also comes with an age limit and the recipient of the model bust be under age of forty on first of January of the year in that the medal is awarded. This age restriction is very similar to that applicable to the major Clark Medal awarded in the field of economics. The under-forty rule is mainly based on Field’s desire to encourage further field achievements as well as provide a stimulus to those young scientists.

The monetary fond of the Fields Medal is lower than the fond of the Noble Prize which is around 1,400,000 Canadian Dollars given with every Nobel prize since 2014. Other major awards in the field of mathematics like the Chern Medal and the Abel Prize also come with larger monetary prizes in comparison to the Fields Medal. The youngest recipient of the medal is Jean-Pierre Serre. He was awarded the medal back in 1954 at the age of twenty-seven. Last winners of the medal back in 2014 are Artur Avila from the University of Paris VII, Manjul Bhargava from the Princeton University, Martin Hairer from the University of Warwick and Maryam Mirzakhani from the Stanford University.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons