Press "Enter" to skip to content

International Мathematics Competitions

problemsMathematical Olympiads are competitive events in which participants sit a math test. Most common math competitions include tests with multiple choice, detailed written solutions of proof and numeric answers. When it comes to international math competition there is a long list of mathematics olympiads, mathematical challenges for both elementary and high school students and math competitions for undergraduate students.

The study of various topics like space, quantity, structure, and change is among the most studied scientific fields, so there is no wonder every year’s new competitions are being introduced. There are many international mathematics competitions like Mathematical Kangaroo, Mental Calculation World Cup, Primary Mathematics World Contest, International Mathematical Modeling Challenge, but the oldest one is the International Mathematical Olympiad or IMO held annually since 1959.

International Mathematical Olympiad

International Mathematical Olympiad is the oldest of the major International Science Olympiads held every year since 1959. It is a six-problem math international competition for worldwide pre-college students. The first International Mathematical Competition was held in Romania and ever since its foundation it has been held every year. About hundred countries send their teams including up to six students plus a team leader, observers, and a deputy leader. The content of the competition range form pre-calculus problems, extremely difficult algebra to various problems on different mathematics branches which are not conventionally covered in schools and universities like number theory, complex geometry, projective geometry, functional equations. Students prepare for the competitions for months.

Calculus is allowed in the competition, but it is almost never required since anyone with a basic understanding of mathematics shouldn’t have any issues in understanding the problems even though the solutions require a greater knowledge. When it comes to the selection of students who participate the overall process differs by country. However, the common process mainly consists of a series of mathematical tests that admit a fewer number of students at every progressing test. International Mathematical Olympiad’s awards are given each year to approximately the top fifty percent scoring contestants. It should be noted that teams are not recognized and every top scoring contestant is awarded individually regardless of his or her team. On the other hand, team scoring unofficially is often compared more than those individual scores.

Mental Calculation World Cup

The Mental Calculation World Cup is an international math competition held every two years in Germany. The first competition first held back in 2004 in Annaberg-Buchholz. There were seventeen participants from ten countries. The Mental Calculation World Cup includes various math problems like adding ten-digit numbers containing ten tasks which have to be completed in ten minutes. Another task is multiplying two 8-digit numbers divided into ten tasks which have to be completed in fifteen minutes.

There is also another task, calendar calculations that include two series of problems requiring one minute each. The fifty math task is square-root from 6-digit numbers divided into ten tasks and the participants have fifteen minutes to solve the task. The Mental Calculation World Cup back in 2016 was held in Bielefeld, Germany and gathered participants from sixteen countries. [more international mathematics competitions]


Fields Medal – The Nobel Prize of Mathematics

fields medalThe medal is often regarded to as the Nobel Prize of Mathematics. It is one of the most prestigious awards in the field. However, unlike the Nobel Prize. The medal also comes with an age limit and the recipient of the model bust be under age of forty on first of January of the year in that the medal is awarded. This age restriction is very similar to that applicable to the major Clark Medal awarded in the field of economics. The under-forty rule is mainly based on Field’s desire to encourage further field achievements as well as provide a stimulus to those young scientists.

The Fields Medal is a prize rewarded every four years to up to four mathematicians under forty years of age by the major International Congress of the International Mathematical Union. IMU is a meeting take place every four years. The Fields Medal alongside the Abel Prize is the highest honor a mathematician can earn during his or hers active days in the field. The Fields Award is awarded for outstanding contributions in the field of mathematics to young scientists introduced back in 1936. The Fields Medal alongside the Abel Medal is commonly regarded to as the Nobel Prize for mathematics. The Fields Medal is different from the Abel medal in terms of the age restriction and in its frequency since the Fields Medal is awarded every four years to scientists up to forty years. [continue reading]

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons